What's Missing Today?

“…and this gospel of the kingdom…” Math 24:14

There are a number of facets to the gospel of the kingdom but one that cannot be over-emphasised is that of sacrifice. I am not referring to the Old Testament thought of animal sacrifice but rather of self-sacrifice.

Today, in the vast majority of our North American churches, we are exposed to just a portion of what the gospel, the good news, really is. We immediately think when we hear the term – good news- of pleasant things, good gifts and wonderful events happening to us and they are certainly part of the good news.

But I wonder if from God’s perspective, could the sacrificing of all my own desires – my pleasures and comforts, for the gospel of the kingdoms sake be – good news from His vantage point? Obviously He see’s from eternities perspective while we only view just a momentary glimpse called our life span, but I wonder.

Many Christians and Christian leaders, feel that declaring the forgiveness of sin through the death and resurrection then seeing a person repent and ask Jesus to be their saviour, is the gospel.

I would suggest that it is only the first portion of what the New Testament describes as the gospel. If we just focus on the “saved and going to heaven” portion, I believe we have missed too much of the teaching and example Jesus provided for us.

Matthew 28 says “…go and make disciples of all the nations…” Jesus’ plan was to disciple nations (ethnos) and the way He described that as happening, was through discipled followers. So the natural by-product of a Discipled Nation, is a discipled follower.

If we look at the example that Jesus supplied for us as He commissioned His disciples, we can clearly see how we should be focused today. By-the-way, I’m sure we will all agree, He did not give us His commissioning disciples model, for us to ignore and develop one more comfortable to our personal life style.

Jesus spoke to the men to lay down their own agenda (business, planned futures and focus) and follow Him. Why would we think it is any different today?

So, first Jesus chose them, then He equipped them, then He sent them out to do what He had demonstrated to them. He then enacted the ultimate example in the giving His life for the Gospel of the Kingdom and dying so all mankind could live.

He also gave them post-resurrection instructions---you go and do the same---you also be willing to invest your life---you go and change the world. And of course, those twelve did exactly that. All but John, experientially and physically, gave their lives for this universal transformative message we call the gospel. Remember, it wasn’t converts that changed the world, it was disciples.

I would ask today, where are the “alter calls” saying, come, lay down your life, pick up your cross and follow Me.

If we are going to see our nations transformed again as it was with the first twelve, we must move past, “forgiveness of sin” and graduate to “pick up our cross and die”.

We have this saying that just rolls off our tongue --- make Jesus your Lord and Saviour ---but too often we just refer to the Saviour portion and ignore the making Him Lord element. If He is Lord, we then are saying we relinquish control and self desire, giving all that to His focus, momentum and direction.
Not my will but Yours

I am going to make a statement that is very easy to say but more difficult to actually live out. I’m sure you will recognize what Mary said when she was asked by Gabriel; she said, “…be it unto me as according to your will…”

We are being asked today, “are you willing? will you lay down your agenda, your desires and your future for His agenda, His desires and His future?"

Comments

6/25/2019
I have pondered this so many times. Living here in the United States doesn’t provide for any example of what Lordship truly is. I’ve seen movies and read novels of days long gone where everyday common folk would have to recognize the Lordship of a king, a prince, an earl or duke, or anyone of “royalty”, while in their presence. I have no experiencial understanding of Lordship, consequently, I have only my imagination to rely upon. I can talk the talk about Lordship but the truth in that is that I’m simply parroting what I’ve heard others say on the subject. Truth is that if I somehow ended up in the presence of a lord, or any form of royalty, I wouldn’t even recognize it if left to my own devices. Those who lived their lives in the presence of a monarchy, and it’s many persons of title, would naturally understand a reality that I know nothing about. Sometimes I can’t help but wonder if the KJV was translated more through the eyes of the monarchy, subsequently then freely using the word “lord” to convey the sense of royalty and to possibly influence the people. I wish I knew Hebrew and Arimaic(?) which, obviously, were likely the languages that Jesus would have spoken. But, all in all, “Lordship” is really a difficult concept for those of us who were not exposed to the reality of of royalty. I’m by no means attempting to disagree with you. I’m just saying that it’s a foreign concept to those who haven’t lived their lives under the governmental authority of “royalty”.