The Gospel of Self

Good Afternoon!

In our North American society, we have too many people that have said the "sinners prayer" and believe that somehow is the total answer to their deep seated need for redemption.

Most people in their lives come face-to-face with the necessity to ask the question, "...is there a God and if so, what do I have to do to connect with Him?"

Unfortunately too often, the gospel has been presented as very self serving, and "me" focused. The typical "alter call" would go something like this; "just ask Jesus into your heart and He will forgive you of your sins, secure a place for you in a heavenly mansion and give you joy, peace, health, wealth and a seat right next to His."

This kind of gospel presentation may fill the alters, meeting the emotional and relational needs of the hearer but unfortunately stops well short of the elements that bring societal change.

As a natural outcome of this process, we have church members that have a form of godliness but are missing genuine zeal and abandonment to His purpose.

I would like to pose a question; Can there be a rebirth without a death first? Can we actually be born again without surrendering our lives to the Lordship of Jesus Christ? "...it is no longer I that lives but CHRIST that lives in me."

​ Matthew was a wealthy tax collector, Peter, James and Andrew were business men and Paul was a well respected religious leader on his way to "the top" but they all understood the gospel and its eternal value. That it was worth giving up the temporal things thought to be so coveted by man and investing their all to the understanding and direction of, His Kingdom coming.

If we actually believe that we will stand before God one day and give an account for what we did with talents and abilities that He gave us, would we see things differently? Each of us has a sphere of influence and people that surround us. We connect with them to bring eternal influence and Kingdom transformation within them.

Although all the benefits of the gospel are true, the gospel is not all about me, it is all about Him and what He wants to do in and through my life.

Blessings, George Woodward

Comments

10/21/2016
I liked the article. There definiately is a ongoing false converts that have been added to the church and are not saved due to repeating a prayer. How can one truest get saved when they don't think they are wrong? How can one get saved when he thinks he is a good person. Until he is shown the wrath from God being stored up daily for a day of judgement hanging over his/her head, knowing God is going to crush them to dust for their sins. Then can they see the good news and mercy Of God and run to Him and truly become a new creature in Christ. Sadlay today its all about numbers not about individual props.

10/28/2016
I would like to pose a question; Can there be a rebirth without a death first? Can we actually be born again without surrendering our lives to the Lordship of Jesus Christ? "...it is no longer I that lives but CHRIST that lives in me."
This is an absolute truth. I know I was definitely "converted" when asked the "altar call" type question. I know I surrendered as best I knew how at that time. I know this for a certainty because in Jesus' words " He who is of God hears God's words therefore you do not hear because you are not of God"John 8:47. I know I hear God's words and I desire to be more like Jesus. I know He is speaking to me and that I am indeed alive and reborn because He does not speak to my former 'dead' self but to my alive reborn spirit. it is definitely a journey and a process and not an instant miracle to live and breathe in Him just like being born naturally a baby and living and growing into maturity.
So when you ask can one be born again by merely responding to an altar call, it might bring doubt to those who do not 'feel' converted or reborn based on emotion and circumstances. Teaching is a critical necessity in the process of which I am very thankful. Just recently in a worship time in a church service I "heard" 'One does not desire food when they are dead or even unwell'. I know I am 'alive and well' because I desire the food of His Word despite not being entirely like Him or despite not always using my gifts and abilities from Him in my sphere of influence.i am thankful for His Spirit who is always with me, in me to counsel and teach me in this lifelong journey! I have a 'zeal' for His life in me!